June 27, 2017



AAOS to Comment on 2018 Quality Payment Program Proposed Rule

Bonefied News

Reminder: G-Code Reporting – Starts July 1!

Quality Payment Program Updates

Congratulations to Kay Kirkpatrick, MD - Officially Sworn in as State Senator!

AMA House of Delegates – Annual Meeting 2017

Political Graphic of the Week

State Corner: State Orthopaedic Societies Tackle Workers Compensation Issues

What We're Reading

5 Ways for Healthcare Providers to Get Ready for New Medicare Cards

New Resident PAC
One Pager

Twitter Stream

PAC Participation Leader Board by State

Thank You to Our Current Orthopaedic PAC Advisor’s Circle Members!

AAOS Orthopaedic PAC Online and Mobile Donations


AAOS website

AAOS Calendar

House of Representatives Legislative Activities
Facebook Twitter


AMA House of Delegates Annual Meeting 2017

AAOS delegate members met in Chicago, Illinois from June 10-14, 2017 for the American Medical Association (AMA) House of Delegates (HOD) Annual meeting. The HOD is the legislative and policy-making body of the AMA and is composed of hundreds of physicians, medical students, residents and fellows. The delegation addressed several issues to promote medicine and improve public health.

The House voted against caps on federal Medicaid funding to ensure physicians have flexibility to respond to their patients’ needs. The HOD agreed to continue working with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) to provide quality of care to veterans and advocate new funding for the Veterans Choice Program (VCP). In addition, the HOD adopted a series of resolutions that affirmed the organization’s commitment to patients’ health and well-being, regardless of immigration status.

In a continued effort to reduce opioid use, the AMA House of Delegates (HOD) took actions aimed at improving pain care while expanding access to buprenorphine for patients with opioid-use disorder and encouraging the safe storage and disposal of controlled substances. A continued topic of discussion was Maintenance of Certification (MOC), in which the House adopted a resolution that calls for increasing physicians’ participation on governance boards of nonprofits, for-profit corporations and other organizations and approved online posting of a physician’s board-certification achievements. The delegation also approved polices that state “that physicians who participate in programs related to quality improvement and/or patient safety receive credit for MOC Part IV.”

The AAOS delegates are John Early, MD, Bill Martin, MD, Alexandra Page, MD, Michael Suk, MD, JD, MPH and Kimberly Templeton, MD. The AMA HOD will meet again in November.

More information about the reports and resolutions discussed at the AMA HOD can be found here: https://wire.ama-assn.org/ama-news/house-delegates.