Trouble viewing? Web Version |Mobile Version

The Joint Commission
 
Joint Commission Highlights 405 Top Performing Hospitals in Annual Report
For First Time Report Identifies Top Performers on Key Quality Measures
WHAT: Telephone news conference to present The Joint Commission’s 2011 Annual Report:  Improving America’s Hospitals, featuring Joint Commission President Dr. Mark R. Chassin. For the first time, The Joint Commission’s 2011 annual report on quality and safety, Improving America’s Hospitals, lists hospitals and critical access hospitals that are top performers in using evidence-based care processes closely linked to positive patient outcomes.
   
WHY:  The Joint Commission’s sixth annual report presents scientific evidence of hospital performance and how it relates to common medical conditions and procedures. The report singles out hospitals based on their performance related to 22 accountability measures for heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia, surgical care and children’s asthma care. Using these evidence-based measures has saved lives and resulted in better health care and quality of life for tens of thousands of patients. In addition, better performance will help hospitals meet the pay-for-performance requirements of federal and state governments and private payers. Since the measures were first introduced in 2002, hospitals are more consistently using the associated evidence-based treatments; however, more improvement is needed.
   
WHEN:  Wednesday, September 14, 2011
Noon ET, 11 a.m. CT, 10 a.m. MT, 9 a.m. PT                            
   
WHERE:   Dial 1-800-351-6808; Pass code:  2556
   
WHO:     Mark R. Chassin, M.D., FACP, M.P.P., M.P.H., president, The Joint Commission, Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois

###

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 19,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 10,300 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,500 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. The Joint Commission also provides certification of more than 2,000 disease-specific care programs, primary stroke centers, and health care staffing services. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at www.jointcommission.org.